The Cats of Silver Crescent (Hardcover)

The Cats of Silver Crescent By Kaela Noel Cover Image

The Cats of Silver Crescent (Hardcover)

$19.99


In Stock - Please Allow Processing Time
1 on hand, as of May 26 4:07pm
(Children's Middle Grade)

In this stand-alone novel with themes of friendship and family, twelve-year-old Elsby discovers a family of talking cats living in the house next door and must help them harness the magic that made them that way. From the author of the acclaimed Coo, The Cats of Silver Crescent is for fans of Kathi Appelt and Katherine Applegate.

With her mother busy traveling for work, Elsby isn’t thrilled to be spending a few weeks with her great-aunt Verity. Luckily, she has her notebook and a lush garden to sketch to help pass the time. But a visitor takes Elsby by surprise: a cat standing on its two hind legs and dressed like a sailor dashes across the garden and into the neighboring woods!

Elsby can’t believe her eyes, and she can't imagine that Aunt Verity would believe her, either. But that night, the cat and three of his cat companions approach Elsby. They need Elsby’s help. While the cats can talk, think, and behave like humans, the magical spell that made them that way will revert if it’s not renewed soon. Elsby might be the only one who can save them—but every enchantment comes at a price.

A contemporary fantasy about family, friends, trust, and the magic that’s inside everyone, The Cats of Silver Crescent will captivate animal lovers and fans of Jenn Reese’s A Game of Fox & Squirrels

Kaela Noel is the author of Coo. She was born in San Francisco and grew up in New Jersey. She lives in Rhode Island with her family.


Product Details ISBN: 9780062956002
ISBN-10: 0062956000
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: April 30th, 2024
Pages: 272
Language: English

“Twelve-year-old Elisabeth “Elsby” MacBride arrives in Snipatuit, Rhode Island, from Brooklyn to stay with her mysterious aunt Verity in her Carpenter Gothic-style home for the summer. One stormy night, three talking cats show up and ask for help. . . . The sinister small-town New England setting seeps into the narrative. . . . Noel’s writing embraces a comforting historical atmosphere. . . . The imaginative descriptions, well-developed characterization, and sophisticated vocabulary will appeal to keen readers. Meanwhile, coming-of-age themes explore tween friendships and belonging. . . . An ominous and well-executed supernatural fantasy with cozy mystery undertones.” — Kirkus Reviews