While You Were Dreaming (Hardcover)

While You Were Dreaming By Alisha Rai Cover Image

While You Were Dreaming (Hardcover)

$19.99


At Distributor - We Can Usually Get It in 3-8 Days!

In this debut contemporary YA romance by bestselling author Alisha Rai, a girl with undocumented family members goes viral after saving her crush’s life in disguise. A must read for fans of Sandhya Menon and Nicola Yoon. 

A Phenomenal Book Club Pick!

It’s a classic story: girl meets boy, girl falls for boy, boy finally notices girl when he sees her in a homemade costume. At least, that’s what Sonia Patil is hoping for when she plans to meet her crush at the local comic-con in cosplay.

But instead of winning her crush over, Sonia rescues him after he faints into a canal and, suddenly, everything changes. Since she was in disguise, no one knows who the masked do-gooder was . . .but everyone is trying to find out. Sonia can’t let that happen—her sister is undocumented, and the girls have been flying under the radar since their mother was deported back to Mumbai.

Sonia finds herself hiding from social media detectives and trying to connect with her crush and his family. But juggling crushes and a secret identity might just take superpowers. Can Sonia hide in plain sight forever?

Alisha Rai pens award-winning contemporary romances, and her novels have been named Best Books of the Year by the Washington Post, NPR, Amazon, Entertainment Weekly, Kirkus, and Cosmopolitan magazine. When she’s not writing, Alisha is traveling or tweeting. To find out more about her books or to sign up for her newsletter, visit alisharai.com.  


Product Details ISBN: 9780063083967
ISBN-10: 0063083965
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: March 21st, 2023
Pages: 432
Language: English

“A fun, at times poignant, being-your-true-self story with just enough romance to keep readers satisfied. Highly recommended.” — School Library Journal

“Sonia’s troubles and triumphs are richly drawn; through her struggles, Rai intimately explores personal questions around body image, mental health, and toxic internet culture while interweaving thought-provoking interrogations of U.S. immigration and healthcare policies.” — Publishers Weekly

“A well-balanced story poised between serious reality and romantic ideals.” — Kirkus Reviews

“This coming-of-age story is filled with true teen conflicts and crushes, and readers will root for the honest, strong-willed Sonia.” — Booklist