Troy: Shield of Thunder (The Troy Trilogy #2) (Paperback)

Troy: Shield of Thunder (The Troy Trilogy #2) By David Gemmell Cover Image
$17.00
Add to Wish List
Special Order - Arrival Times Vary

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Troy Trilogy series.

Description


The Sunday Times bestselling author David Gemmell brings the myth and legend of Troy to life in this epic story filled with triumph and tragedy. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

"This is how the oldest tales should be read and known. Gemmell is a master of plot, but his triumph is creating men and women so real that their trials are agony and their triumph is glorious" -- CONN IGGULDEN

" [A] vivid, inspirational re-creation of the Troy myth." -- MANDA SCOTT
"The best book that I have ever read" -- ***** Reader review
"The characters are rich, engaging and easy to visualize...perfect historical fiction writing." -- ***** Reader review

****************************************

The war of Troy is looming, and all the kings of the Great Green are gathering, friends and enemies, each with their own dark plans of conquest and plunder.

Into this maelstrom of treachery and deceit come three travellers; Piria, a runaway priestess nursing a terrible secret, Kalliades, a warrior with a legendary sword, and Banokles who will carve his own legend in the battles to come.

Troy: Shield of Thunder takes the reader back into the glories and tragedies of Bronze Age Greece, reuniting the characters from Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow; the dread Helikaon and his great love, the fiery Andromache, the mighty Hektor and the fabled storyteller, Odysseus.

The story concludes in Troy: The Fall of Kings. Have you read the previous title Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow?

About the Author


Published in 1984, David Gemmell's first novel, Legend, has become a classic. His most recent Drenai and Rigante books and his acclaimed Troy trilogy were published as Bantam Press hardcovers and are available in Corgi paperback. All of his novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers.

Widely regarded as one of the finest writers of heroic fantasy, David Gemmell lived in East Sussex until his death in July 2006.

Praise For…


This is how the oldest tales should be read and known. Gemmell is a master of plot, but his triumph is creating men and women so real that their trials are agony and their triumph is glorious—Conn Iggulden

David Gemmell carries us away to a four-cornered, wholly convincing cosmos, so masterfully done that the reader thinks 'Ah, this is what it was really like'—Stephen Pressfield

Gripping and fast-paced, intelligent and intensely readable... should appeal to anyone who enjoys an action-packed historical epic—Joanne Harris

The loyalties and betrayals, the love and the hate, the endless, everlasting courage of the men - and the women - of both sides are brought to life in this vivid, inspirational recreation of the Troy myth—Manda Scott


Product Details
ISBN: 9780345477026
ISBN-10: 0345477022
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: December 26th, 2007
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: The Troy Trilogy