The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford (FSG Classics) (Paperback)

The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford (FSG Classics) Cover Image
By Jean Stafford, Joyce Carol Oates (Introduction by)
Add to Wish List
At Distributor - We Can Usually Get It in 3-8 Days!


These Pulitzer Prize-winning stories represent the major short works of fiction by one of the most distinctively American stylists of her day. Jean Stafford communicates the small details of loneliness and connection, the search for freedom and the desire to belong, that not only illuminate whole lives but also convey with an elegant economy of words the sense of the place and time in which her protagonists find themselves. The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford includes the acclaimed story "An Influx of Poets," which has never before appeared in book form.

About the Author

Jean Stafford (1915-79) was the author of three novels, Boston Adventure, The Mountain Lion, The Catherine Wheel, as well as several children's and nonfiction books. She was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1970.

Joyce Carol Oates has published more than 40 novels and is the recipient of several awards, including the National Book Award, the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction, and the Normal Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement. Her bestselling novels include them, We Were the Mulvaneys, and Blonde.

Praise For…

“The appearance of these stories in one volume is an event in our literature. To have built up so distinguished a collection, each story excellent in its own way and each an original departure in relation to the others, is a triumph. ” —Guy Davenport, New York Times Book Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9780374529932
ISBN-10: 0374529930
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication Date: September 14th, 2005
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: FSG Classics