Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge #4) (Mass Market)

Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge #4) By Charles Todd Cover Image
Add to Wish List
At Distributor - We Can Usually Get It in 3-8 Days!

Other Books in Series

This is book number 4 in the Inspector Ian Rutledge series.


The weathered remains found on a Scottish mountainside may be those of Eleanor Gray, but the imperious Lady Maude Gray, Eleanor's mother, will have to be handled delicately. This is not the only ground that Inspector Ian Rutledge of Scotland Yard must tread carefully, for the case will soon lead him to Scotland, where many of Rutledge's ghosts rest uneasily. But it is an unexpected encounter that will hold the most peril.

For in Scotland Rutledge will find that the young mother accused of killing Eleanor Gray is a woman to whom he owes a terrible debt. And his harrowing journey to find the truth will lead him back through the fires of his past, into secrets that still have the power to kill.

About the Author

Charles Todd is the author of A Test of Wills, Wings of Fire, and Search the Dark. He lives on the East Coast, where he is at work on the next novel in the Inspector Ian Rutledge series, Watchers of Time.

Praise For…

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

"Todd's Ian Rutledge mysteries are among the most intelligent and affecting being written these days."
-- The Washington Post Book World

"With his tortured detective Ian Rutledge and the ghost who inhabits his mind ... Charles Todd has swiftly become one of the most respected writers in the mystery genre.... The pair is unique among sleuths."
-- The Denver Post

"A rich, complex novel intelligently written and very affecting."
-- The Purloined Letter

"Eloquent ... rich."
-- The New York Times Book Review

"Tightly worked, poignant ... a most moving story."
-- Booknews from The Poisoned Pen

Also by Charles Todd:

A Test of Wills (available from Bantam Books)
A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

Wings of Fire
A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

Search the Dark

and coming soon in hardcover:

Watchers of Time

Product Details
ISBN: 9780553583151
ISBN-10: 0553583158
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: May 29th, 2001
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Inspector Ian Rutledge