Bluefish (Compact Disc)

Bluefish By Pat Schmatz, Luke Daniels (Read by), Kate Rudd (Read by) Cover Image
By Pat Schmatz, Luke Daniels (Read by), Kate Rudd (Read by)
$9.99
Add to Wish List
Special Order - Arrival Times Vary

Winter 2012 Kids' Next List


“I loved this story about unlikely friends, each lonely and trapped by labels - trailer trash, brainy dork, and bluefish. I cared deeply about these characters, who are struggling not to be defined by their past expectations, and I cheered for their unconventional teacher who provoked them into seeing their future possibilities. A great book for fans of Katherine Hannigan and Gary Schmidt.”
— Ellen Davis, Dragonwings Bookstore, Waupaca, WI

Description


Thirteen-year-old Travis has a secret: he can't read. But a shrewd teacher and a sassy girl are about to change everything in this witty and deeply moving novel.

Travis is missing his old home in the country, and he's missing his old hound, Rosco. Now there's just the cramped place he shares with his well-meaning but alcoholic grandpa, a new school, and the dreaded routine of passing when he's called on to read out loud. But that's before Travis meets Mr. McQueen, who doesn't take "pass" for an answer--a rare teacher whose savvy persistence has Travis slowly unlocking a book on the natural world. And it's before Travis is noticed by Velveeta, a girl whose wry banter and colorful scarves belie some hard secrets of her own. With sympathy, humor, and disarming honesty, Pat Schmatz brings to life a cast of utterly believable characters--and captures the moments of trust and connection that make all the difference.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781469297781
ISBN-10: 1469297787
Publisher: Candlewick on Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: August 6th, 2013
Pages: 4
Language: English