A Glasshouse of Stars (Paperback)

A Glasshouse of Stars By Shirley Marr Cover Image
$8.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 26 7:20pm
(CHILDREN'S MIDDLE GRADE)

Description


“Heart-twisting and hopeful, bursting with big feelings and gentle magic.” Jessica Townsend, New York Times bestselling author of the Nevermoor series

A moving coming-of-age story about one girl’s bravery and imagination in the face of the unknown. Perfect for fans of Front Desk and Mañanaland.

Meixing Lim and her family have arrived at the New House in the New Land. Her parents inherited the home from First Uncle who died tragically and unexpectedly while picking oranges in the backyard. Her mama likes to remind Meixing the family never could have afforded to move here otherwise, so she should be thankful for this opportunity.

Everything is vast and unknown to Meixing in this supposedly wonderful place. She is embarrassed by her secondhand clothing, has trouble understanding her peers, and is finding it hard to make new friends. Meixing’s only solace is a rundown greenhouse, that her uncle called his glasshouse, at the far end of her backyard that inexplicably holds the sun and the moon and the secrets of her memory and imagination.

When her fragile universe is rocked by tragedy, it will take all of Meixing’s resilience and bravery to finally find her place of belonging in this new world.

About the Author


Shirley Marr is the author of Little JiangFuryPrelovedA Glasshouse of Stars, and All Four Quarters of the Moon. Shirley lives in Perth, Australia, with her family. Learn more at ShirleyMarr.net.

Praise For…


"A Glasshouse of Stars is heart-twisting and hopeful, bursting with big feelings and gentle magic. This is a special book from a powerful, compassionate new voice in children’s literature, destined to be read and loved for generations and held close in many hearts (including mine)." 
— Jessica Townsend, New York Times bestselling author of the Nevermoor series

"A Glasshouse of Stars is a rare and beautiful masterpiece; deeply heartfelt, dreamily magical, and glitteringly hopeful. I adored it!"
— Sophie Anderson

* "A gorgeous meditation on the immigrant experience, the nebulous idea of home, and the beauty and sorrow found in every life and person."
— Booklist, STARRED REVIEW


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534488847
ISBN-10: 1534488847
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 12th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English