Life and Death Are Wearing Me Out: A Novel (Paperback)

Life and Death Are Wearing Me Out: A Novel By Mo Yan, Howard Goldblatt (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mo Yan, Howard Goldblatt (Translated by)
$16.95
Add to Wish List
At Distributor - We Can Usually Get It in 3-8 Days!

Description


  • One of the Nobel Prize Winners in Literature
  • Ideal for fans of Chinese Playground, We Are Party People, Death of Me, Skate with Me, A Farmer’s Life for Me, and similar works
  • Written by today’s most revered, controversial, and feared Chinese novelist

Mo Yan’s Life and Death Are Wearing Me Out is a remarkable story. The absurd, real, comical, and tragic are combined into a fantastic read. The hero—or antihero—is Ximen Nao, a landowner known for his kindness to his peasants. His tale is a heart-wrenching and unique journey and completely riveting tale that shares the author’s love of a homeland caught by ills political, traditional, and inevitable.

About the Author


Howard Goldblatt is a literary translator of numerous works of contemporary Chinese fiction from mainland China and Taiwan, including Nobel Prize–winner Mo Yan, five of whose works are published by Arcade (The Garlic BalladsThe Republic of WineBig Breasts and Wide Hips; Life and Death Are Wearing Me Out; Shifu, You'll Do Anything for a Laugh). He has also translated works by Liu Zhenyun (I Did Not Kill My Husband; The Cook, the Crook, and the Real Estate Tycoon; Remembering 1942, which are published by Arcade), Huang Chunming (The Taste of Apples), and Chen Ruoxi (The Execution of Mayor Yin). He taught modern Chinese literature and culture for more than a quarter of a century. He lives in Lafayette, Colorado.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781611454277
ISBN-10: 1611454271
Publisher: Arcade
Publication Date: July 1st, 2012
Pages: 552
Language: English