Enter Pale Death (A Detective Joe Sandilands Novel #12) (Paperback)

Enter Pale Death (A Detective Joe Sandilands Novel #12) Cover Image
$15.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

December 2014 Indie Next List


“The tales of pre-World War II Scotland Yard's Joe Sandilands are becoming addictive. Intrigue, political manipulations, the ever-present undercurrent of class differences, and the rising spectre of Nazism run throughout the series. Joe always expected to one day wed Dorcas, a charming girl he watched grow up, and is alarmed to find that she has attached herself to her academic patron, Sir James Truelove. The detective is sent to Truelove's family estate to investigate the death of Sir James's wife. Murder investigations, just like true love, never run smoothly. Is Sandilands going to find the way through this snake's nest?”
— Becky Milner, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


One morning before dawn in the stables of her country estate, Lady Truelove meets a violent death in an encounter with a dangerous horse. Classified as “death by misadventure,” this appears a gruesome accident. But Scotland Yard Detective Joe Sandilands suspects foul play—a misgiving he is struggling to separate from his personal grievances toward Sir James Truelove, who is Lady Truelove’s widower and the influential academic patron of Dorcas Joliffe, whom Joe one day hopes to marry.

Joe enlists old friend and former constable Lily Wentworth to trail James, and finds an ally in a fellow police officer familiar with the Truelove estate. But as the investigation yields surprising secrets about one of England’s most powerful families, Joe discovers how little he knows about not only the gilded lives of the moneyed, but also his relationship with Dorcas. Is Joe prepared to risk a future with the girl he loves to uncover the truth behind Lady Truelove’s death?

About the Author


Barbara Cleverly was born in the north of England and is a graduate of Durham University. A former teacher, she lives in Cambridge. She is the author of twelve books in the Joe Sandilands series, including The Last Kashmiri Rose, Strange Images of Death, The Blood Royal, Not My Blood, A Spider in the Cup, and Diana’s Altar.

Praise For…


Praise for Enter Pale Death

December 2014 Indie Next List 

"Colorful and richly historical."
—The Cleveland Plain Dealer

"Cleverly delivers a witty, atmospheric and well-conceived slice of British crime . . . marvelous descriptions of country lore and an evocative Suffolk countryside setting provide a taste of all things British and may send curious readers scurrying to the library to learn more about the ancient traditions in this most ancient of lands."
BookPage

"Excellent . . . genuinely baffling . . . more than a few surprises."
Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

"While there is an intriguing mystery at the heart of Enter Pale Death—one that is set up within the first few pages—one stays for the social intrigue and the historical setting, which Cleverly has nailed to the last nuance . . . Cleverly moves things along at a leisurely pace, but it’s all to give readers time to note the surroundings, which, like the mystery upon which the book is built, are first-rate. Even if you don’t reflexively reach for historical mysteries, you should give Enter Pale Death a shot."
—Bookreporter.com

"An intriguing and entertaining mystery. The period setting . . . brings rural Suffolk alive, describing the villages and people with affection. The central characters are well drawn with complex motives."
—Historical Novel Society 

"This mystery is full of twists, unexpected plot turns, conflicts involving clashes of family, loyalty, class, love, and money, all in a very well-drawn picture of country life circa 1930. This book is a nice visit to an era gone by, with a wonderful puzzle to entertain the reader while visiting."
Reviewing the Evidence

"Some of the best of English folklore and tradition is threaded through this lively mystery, with even an appearance of the powerful and dangerous Green Man of old. Satisfying sorting of a pleasantly complex plot and a set of side characters that come with layers of their own make this one of Cleverly's best. Highly recommended."
—Kingdom Books

“The tales of pre-World War II Scotland Yard's Joe Sandilands are becoming addictive.  Intrigue, political manipulations, the ever-present undercurrent of class differences, and the rising spectre of Nazism run throughout the series. ”
—Becky Milner, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

"An expertly crafted locked-room mystery. Sandilands’ many fans, and readers who love Downton Abbey, Rennie Airth, and Charles Todd, will revel in this elegant, intricately woven mystery set in the early twentieth century."
Booklist

Praise for Barbara Cleverly

“Despite her mastery at vivid scene-setting, Cleverly never loses sight of the historical puzzle that is central to her story. Simply put, it’s a stunner.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Fans of P.D. James, take note: Here’s a worthy colleague.”
The Seattle Times

“Stylish and intricate . . . Cleverly has perfect pitch for period and place, whether her hero is unearthing evil in India, England or France.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Cleverly is a terrific writer . . . Fans know that she supplies the glamour as well as the grime, and she’s one of the most adept puzzle-plot-makers now working. The clues are all there. But you won’t guess who it is until she gives you the final word.”
The Globe and Mail

“The appearance of a Joe Sandilands book is always welcomed by fans of this intelligent and gripping series.”
San Jose Mercury

“Excellent . . . Golden age fans who appreciate deceptive storytelling enhanced by the kind of in-depth characterization lacking in Agatha Christie will be more than satisfied.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781616956172
ISBN-10: 1616956178
Publisher: Soho Crime
Publication Date: November 3rd, 2015
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: A Detective Joe Sandilands Novel