Hot Boy Summer (Hardcover)

Hot Boy Summer By Joe Jiménez Cover Image

Hot Boy Summer (Hardcover)

$19.99


In Stock - Please Allow Processing Time
1 on hand, as of May 20 8:07pm
(Children's Young Adult)
Four gay teens in Texas have the summer of their lives while discovering important truths about realness, belonging, and friendship in this joyful young adult contemporary novel for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli.

Mac has never really felt like he belonged. Definitely not at home—his dad’s politics and toxic masculinity make a real connection impossible. He thought he fit in on the baseball team, but that’s only because he was pretending to be someone he wasn’t. Finding his first gay friend, Cammy, was momentous; finally, he could be his authentic self around someone else. But as it turned out, not really. Cammy could be cruel, and his “advice” often came off way harsh.

And then, Mac meets Flor, who shows him that you can be both fierce and kind, and Mikey, who is superhot and might maybe think the same about him. Over the course of one hot, life-changing summer, Mac will stand face-to-face with desire, betrayal, and letting go of shame, which will lead to some huge discoveries about the realness of truly belonging.

Told in Mac’s infectious, joyful, gay AF voice, Hot Boy Summer serves a tale as important as hope itself: four gay teens doing what they can to connect and have the fiercest summer of their lives. New friendships will be forged, hot boys will be kissed…and girl, the toxic will be detoxed.
Joe Jiménez is the author of the poetry collection Rattlesnake Allegory and the young adult novels Hot Boy Summer and Bloodline. He was the recipient of the 2016 Letras Latinas/Red Hen Press Poetry Prize, and he was awarded a Lucas Artists Literary Artists Fellowship. His writing has appeared on the PBS NewsHour and Lambda Literary sites. Joe lives in San Antonio, Texas, where he is a high school English teacher and a member of the Macondo Writers Workshop. Learn more at JoeJimenez.net.

Product Details ISBN: 9781665932059
ISBN-10: 1665932058
Publisher: MTV Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English
"Mac’s frenetic, slang-laden narration (“It’s a vibe and a moment. For the reals. And I’m sooo here for it, and I’m #sooo- verygagged”) is distinctive, infusing this summery romance with reality show flavor."
-- Publishers Weekly

"The conceivable impact of Mac’s story and voice is immense. Overall, an explosive prose debut for the gays and theys growing up outside of the box, ready to start feeling their French Vanilla Fantasy."
-- Booklist, STARRED Review

"OMG, girl! Seriously? From Texas? And not throwing hate? #authenticrealness in this gay pride love story. Hotter than a Jalapeño Whataburger with spicy ketchup and Cholula. And set in San Anto’ no less! I’m 110 abso living for this #slay. Puro perra fierce. Thanks, mijo. #mamalovesit #forreals"
— —Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street