Front Country (Hardcover)

Front Country By Sara St. Antoine Cover Image
$17.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Dec 8 7:20pm
(CHILDREN'S MIDDLE GRADE)

Description


My Side of the Mountain meets Greta Thunberg in this heartfelt, exciting novel about one girl’s growing awareness of herself, the world, and the relationship between the two. 
 
The world is not okay. Now what?

Ginny Shepard is glad to be in Montana for a month of backcountry camping before she starts high school. The world is on fire. That's the awful truth. And Ginny would much rather be hiking in the mountains than doing the summer college prep classes her parents think will help her future. Because, the future? Who even knows what that is anymore.

But once Ginny gets to camp, things get complicated fast. She meets her tripmates: five challenging, rebellious, tech-addicted boys. And she finds out TrackFinders is designed for kids who need extra "support." Instead of feeling free as a bird, Ginny feels trapped . . . and betrayed.
As her friendships with her fellow campers deepen on the trail, though, Ginny starts to see new sides of them—and of herself. Maybe out here in the backcountry she'll actually find what she needs to face the front country again.
Set in Montana's sweeping alpine wilderness, this epic adventure captures the tremendous heartbreak of realizing the world isn't okay at all and shows how that knowledge, and what we choose to do with it, shapes us into who we are.
 
AN EMPOWERING ADVENTURE STORY: Despite humans' ever-worsening impact on the environment, there are relatively few books about the topic—especially for young readers, and especially that don't feel preachy. This book is an empowering adventure story, and it's also positive, not depressing.
STRONG FEMALE PROTAGONIST: Ginny positively models dealing with strengths and weaknesses to readers, who are full of flaws but full of strengths, too. The way she struggles with both will speak to young readers. Even kids who are not interested in climate change will recognize her as a fellow young person and quickly become aware of the ways she's able to effect change—and the ways she still can't.
STEM TOPICS: Educators and librarians will love tying this fictional story to nonfiction curriculum, and there are several different access points for this book from a scientific perspective. Environmental science, earth science, climate change, differing regional biomes, geology, and biology are all explored in real-world, character-driven ways.
GIRLS IN SCIENCE: Ginny's passion for science shows readers that science-loving girls can be cool—and there are many different ways characters of all genders embrace science.
A THRILLING PAGE-TURNER: In the tradition of Hatchet and Wolf Hollow, this book is an excellent, fast-paced story that's impossible to put down. Kids will love every character—or love to hate them—and will finish the book feeling like they're leaving friends behind. 

Perfect for:
Animal lovers
Kids who love adventure and nature
Teachers and librarians

About the Author


Sara St. Antoine is an award-winning author and freelance writer. A graduate of Williams College, Sara holds a master's degree from the Yale School of the Environment. Her debut novel, THREE BIRD SUMMER, was selected as a Boston Globe Best Book of the Year and an ALSC Notable Children's Book for middle grade readers. Sara also edits the Stories from Where We Live anthology series, which celebrates place-based literature from different regions of North America. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts, with her husband and two teenage daughters.

Praise For…


“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The expertly crafted plot incorporates contemporary concerns as well as timeless truths into its layered plot…[Front Country is] riveting.” – Kirkus Reviews




“Without diminishing the existential threat of climate change, this uplifting novel from St. Antoine attentively exhibits ways that communities can support one another in troubling times.” — Publishers Weekly



“Front Country is the book we need at the time we need it: a beautifully written story about finding meaning in the face of despair and friendship in the unlikeliest of places. Give this novel to every young reader worried about the future of our fragile planet. They’ll come away grateful, hopeful, and truly inspired.”—Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal–winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One and Only Ivan



Front Country is one of those books that takes you on a journey—and it’s a journey we all need to be taking. This is a story about the ache and promise of our world, and it begs us to pay attention to both. A terrific and important read.”—Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honoree, Printz Honoree, and National Book Award Finalist for Okay for Now



Product Details
ISBN: 9781797215631
ISBN-10: 1797215639
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: October 4th, 2022
Pages: 332
Language: English