Survivor's Guilt (Kobo eBook)

Survivor's Guilt By Robyn Gigl Cover Image
$14.41
Available Now

Description


“A groundbreaking series…razor-sharp, compulsively readable courtroom scenes.” – The New York Times Book Review

“Another barrier-breaking thriller from a voice missing too long from the mystery chorus.” – The Los Angeles Times Book Review

The New York Times Best Mystery Novel in a Series 2022 | The Los Angeles Times Best Crime Novels Winter 2022 | LAMBDA Literary Most Anticipated LGBTQIA+ Literature | CrimeReads Most Anticipated and Best Crime Fiction Of 2022 | SheReads Best Mystery Books Coming in 2022 | TIME Magazine Top 100 Mystery and Thriller Books of All Time

Perfect for fans of Laura Griffin and Lisa Unger, Attorney and LGBTQ+ activist Robyn Gigl tackles the complexities of gender, power, public perception, and human trafficking with a ripped-from-the-headlines plot in this powerful legal thriller featuring a transgender attorney at its center.

At first, the death of millionaire businessman Charles Parsons seems like a straightforward suicide. There’s no sign of forced entry or struggle in his lavish New Jersey mansion—just a single gunshot wound from his own weapon. But days later, a different story emerges. Computer techs pick up a voice recording that incriminates Parsons’ adoptive daughter, Ann, who duly confesses and pleads guilty.

Erin McCabe has little interest in reviewing such a slam-dunk case—even after she learns that Ann, like herself, is a trans woman. Yet despite their misgivings, Erin and her law partner, Duane Swisher, ultimately can’t ignore the pieces that don’t fit. As their investigation deepens, they convince Ann to withdraw her guilty plea. But Ann clearly knows more than she’s willing to share, even if it means a life sentence. Who is she protecting, and why?

Fighting against time and a prosecutor hell-bent on notching another conviction, Erin and Swish work tirelessly to clear Ann’s name. But despite Parsons’ former associates’ determination to keep his—and their own—illegal activities buried, a horrifying truth emerges—a web of human exploitation, greed, and murder. Soon, a quest to see justice served becomes a desperate struggle to survive . . .

“Topically relevant, edgy, and riveting, this series is one to watch.” – Library Journal

“Stunning…Gigl delightfully flips the usual terms of the genre with a murder victim readers are quickly drawn to hate and a murderer whom they will be rooting for. Her takes on big questions of justice, revenge, and the nature of victimhood will resonate with many.” – Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"Another great merger of legal mystery and psychological thriller." – CrimeReads

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781496728302
Publisher: Kensington Books
Publication Date: January 25th, 2022
Language: